Board of Directors

Collegiate Academy is a community-founded and run charter school. Authorized by Jeffco Public Schools, CAC operates autonomously under the direction of its own Board of Directors.  The CAC Board of Directors consists of five elected parents, two at-large community member, the administrative team, two high school students elected by the student body, one elementary teacher, and one upper school teacher elected by the teaching  staff.  

Collegiate Academy's Board of Directors is responsible for hiring and evaluating top level Administration, managing the financial viability of the school, and making policy and procedure decisions affecting CAC.


Board Meetings are generally scheduled on the first Wednesday of the month at 6:00pm. Because Board Members are parents and community members, meetings are sometimes rescheduled to accommodate varying schedules. Please check the Collegiate Google Calendar to find up-to-date information on scheduled meetings. 

Board Members

Brian Mess, Chairman (Parent Member)
Ken Patton, Vice Chair, Treasurer (At-Large Member)
Sherry Ballengee, Secretary (Teacher Rep)
Debbie Randall (Parent Member)
Jacob Fogg (Parent Member)
John Byrne (Parent Member)

Chris Becker (Principal)


Collegiate Academy's Board of Directors can be contacted through the official Board email address: